Tuesday, October 3rd, 2023

Center for Tomorrow, Flint Road
University at Buffalo, North Campus

Program: A Taste Of Bacteriophage

Megan Ulbrich, BS, PhD Candidate
Erwin Neter Award Winner 2023
University of Rochester Medical Center
“Special Delivery: A Novel Vibrio cholerae Protein Remodels Host Cytoskeletal Structures.”

Kathryn Kaufman, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Oral Biology
University at Buffalo, School of Dental Science
“Resolving the Structure of Phage-bacteria Interactions, from the Ocean to the Oral Microbiome”

Mark Gallo, PhD
Program Director of Pre-Professional Health
Niagara University, Niagara Falls, NY
“Isolation of Bacteriophage from Whitetail Deer, Odocoileus virginianus: I Study Deer Snot!”

Patrick Kenney, MD, MS
Infectious Disease Fellow, Department of Pediatrics
University at Buffalo, Jacobs School of Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
“Bacteriophage Discovery in Buffalo: Successes and Challenges”

Karen Maxwell, PhD
ASM Distinguished and Waksman Foundation Lecturer
Associate Professor, University of Toronto
“Off-switches for CRISPR-Cas9: From Phage Biology to Biotechnology”